The President

The President chairs the General Assembly and the Governing Board and represents the Organisation internally and externally. The President is elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years.

Photo of Michael MatloszScience Europe’s current President Michael Matlosz is also President and Chief Executive Officer of the French National Research Agency (ANR)

The Vice-Presidents

The President is supported by a Vice-President for Funding Organisations and a Vice-President for Performing Organisations. The Vice Presidents are elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years. The current Vice-Presidents are:

Photo of Ingrid Petersson

Ingrid Petersson
Director General of the Swedish Research Council for Environment, Agricultural Science and Spatial Planning (FORMAS)

Photo of Emilio Lora-Tamayo

Emilio Lora-Tamayo
President of the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC)


(07/09/17) New Symposium Report on impact and the societal value of science... read more

(07/09/17) International coalition joins together to halt potentially harmful copyright reform... read more

(04/09/2017) New Workshop Report on cross-border collaboration and portfolio management of Research more

(11/07/17) Let's talk about the value of research, not just its impact... read more

(03/07/17) Key principles to shape the future Framework Programme... read more


Discover the new Position Statement on a New Vision for More Meaningful Research Impact Assessment... read more