Science Europe Founding Assembly

Photo of Matthias Kleiner and Máire Geoghegan-Quinn shaking hands.On 21 October 2011 European research organisations celebrated the founding of Science Europe in Berlin. The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (the German Research Foundation) hosted and organised the launch event and the founding assembly in co-operation with the Science Europe Pilot Office. Forty-nine organisations participated in Science Europe’s Founding Assembly and elected the President, two Vice-Presidents and seven Board Members.

Founding Members

Seven organisations acted as founding members of Science Europe:

Presentations from the Launch

Welcome speech by Professor Matthias Kleiner, President of the German Research Foundation (DFG)

‘Science Europe: a Logical Piece in the Puzzle’, speech by Professor Imboden, President of the Research Council at the Swiss National Science Foundation and founding President of Science Europe

‘Research and Innovation: Addressing Common Challenges in Europe’, speech by Máire Geoghegan-Quinn, European Commissioner for Research and Innovation

Speech by Professor Paul Boyle, President of Science Europe

Press Release: ‘Science Europe Founded to Strengthen Collaboration between Europe’s National Research Organisations’

Photos of the Founding Assembly:

Photos: © 2011 DFG/David Ausserhofer


(07/09/17) New Symposium Report on impact and the societal value of science... read more

(07/09/17) International coalition joins together to halt potentially harmful copyright reform... read more

(04/09/2017) New Workshop Report on cross-border collaboration and portfolio management of Research more

(11/07/17) Let's talk about the value of research, not just its impact... read more

(03/07/17) Key principles to shape the future Framework Programme... read more


Discover the new Position Statement on a New Vision for More Meaningful Research Impact Assessment... read more