New President and Governing Board Elected

Marc Schiltz is the new President of Science Europe. Its Member Organisations elected him at the General Assembly on 30 November for a two-year period. Ingrid Petersson joins him as Vice-President of the organisations, as does a renewed Governing Board.

Photograph of the General Assembly of Science Europe in November 2017
The General Assembly of Science Europe that elected the new Presidency and Governing Board in November 2017

Schiltz (48) is currently the CEO of the Luxembourg National Research Fund (FNR). He has been a strong supporter of Science Europe since its founding in 2011 and sat on its Governing Board since 2015. He is enthusiastic about leading the Governing board that will steward the association in its next phase of development: “I believe that Science Europe holds great potential for shaping the future of European research. It is the forum where the most important research funding and research performing organisations join forces. Their collaboration can impact the future of research in Europe in a way that no single organisation would be able to achieve on its own.”

Schiltz takes over the presidency from Michael Matlosz, who was President of the organisation from 2015 to 2017. Matlosz is confident that the association is in good hands: “Marc Schiltz has been a very supportive and constructive voice in the past years, and he is the right person to help Science Europe tackle the challenges in the continuing development of the European Research Area in the next several years. It has been my pleasure working with him as President of Science Europe and I wish both him and the organisation the very best.”

Vice-President and Governing Board

The members of Science Europe also elected Ingrid Petersson, Director-General of the Swedish Research Council for Sustainable Development (FORMAS), for a second term as Vice-President and voted a new Governing Board into place. The Governing Board and Presidency will set the strategic agenda for the association during the next two years. See also the full overview of Governing Board members.


(0702/19) Science Europe issues a statement on managing the independence and guaranteeing the excellence of the European Research Council... read more

(29/01/19) Science Europe launches guide to support the international alignment of Research Data Management... read more

Science Europe wishes you a very happy festive season and looks forward to working with you in 2019... read more

(17/12/2018) Science Europe reaction to the legislators' latest decisions on Horizon Europe read more

(23/11/18) Stephan Kuster, Secretary General of Science Europe, has been appointed as one of 11 members of the new Executive Board of the European Open Science Cloud (EOSC).

(12/11/2018) R&I stakeholders call on the EU institutions to seek a balanced approach to data sharing in the PSI Directive... read more

(19/10/18) Science Europe is currently recruiting a new Senior Policy Officer... read more


The Practical Guide to the International Alignment of Research Data Management (November 2018) presents core requirements for Data Management Plans (DMPs) and criteria for the selection of trustworthy repositories, as well as some guidance on how to put these requirements and criteria into practice... read more