The Governing Board

The Science Europe Governing Board is the senior body of elected members who jointly make, guide and monitor the strategic direction of the organisation. It reports to the General Assembly and is comprised of the President, the two Vice-Presidents, and a minimum of six Ordinary Members.

Ordinary Members, being Heads of Member Organisations, are elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years. The President of Science Europe chairs the Governing Board and decides in the event of tied votes. The Secretary General of Science Europe also attends Board Meetings but does not have a vote. In general, the Board meets at least twice a year.

Since November 2017, Marc Schiltz (FNR) serves as the President of Science Europe. The President chairs the General Assembly and the Governing Board and represents the organisation internally and externally.

The President is supported by two Vice-Presidents. Ingrid Petersson, Director General of the Swedish Research Council for Sustainable Development (FORMAS) is currently the Vice-President representing Funding Organisations. The Vice-President representing Research Performing Organisations is Rosa Menéndez, President of the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC).

The following Ordinary Members serve on the Science Europe Governing Board since 2017:

  • Zbigniew Błocki, Director of the National Science Centre (NCN), Poland
  • Fernando Ferroni, President of the National Institute for Nuclear Physics (INFN), Italy
  • Stan Gielen, President of the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)
  • József Györkös, Director of the Slovenian Research Agency (ARRS)
  • Angelika Kalt, Director of the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)
  • Andres Koppel, Director General of the Estonian Research Council (ETAG)
  • László Lovász, President of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (MTA)
  • Andrew Thompson, Chief Executive of the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC)

(17/12/2018) Science Europe reaction to the legislators' latest decisions on Horizon Europe read more

Science Europe wishes you a very happy festive season and looks forward to working with you in 2019... read more

(23/11/18) Stephan Kuster, Secretary General of Science Europe, has been appointed as one of 11 members of the new Executive Board of the European Open Science Cloud (EOSC).

(12/11/2018) R&I stakeholders call on the EU institutions to seek a balanced approach to data sharing in the PSI Directive... read more

(19/10/18) Science Europe is currently recruiting a new Senior Policy Officer... read more

(12/09/18) Science Europe is disappointed that the European Parliament did not sufficiently improve the far too restrictive proposal for TDM in the new Copyright Directive in today’s plenary vote... read more

(04/09/18) Science without publication paywalls: cOAlition S for the realisation of full and immediate Open Access... read more

(11/07/2018) Research funders making Open Access a reality by more

(08/06/2018) Science Europe has published its reaction to the European Commission's Proposal on Horizon Europe…read more

(01/06/2018) Rosa Menéndez (CSIC) was elected as Science Europe Vice-President... Read more


The Practical Guide to the International Alignment of Research Data Management (November 2018) presents core requirements for Data Management Plans (DMPs) and criteria for the selection of trustworthy repositories, as well as some guidance on how to put these requirements and criteria into practice... read more