Skip to content
Headshot of Science Europe Governing Board member
Headshot of Science Europe Governing Board member © Pixabay from Pexels

Governing Board

The Science Europe Governing Board is the senior body of elected members who is entrusted by the General Assembly to define, guide, and monitor the strategic direction of the association. It consists of at least nine Heads of Science Europe's Member Organisations, including a President and two Vice-Presidents.

Governing Board members are elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years.

Since November 2023, Mari Sundli Tveit, Chief Executive of the Research Council of Norway (RCN), serves as the President of Science Europe. The President chairs the General Assembly and the Governing Board, and represents the organisation internally and externally.

The President is supported by two Vice-Presidents: Marcel Levi, President of the Dutch Research Council (NWO) represents Funding Organisations, while Javier Moreno Fuentes, Vice-President of the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) represents Research Performing Organisations.


Mari Sundli Tveit

Chief Executive of the Research Council of Norway (RCN)


Marcel Levi

President of the Dutch Research Council (NWO), Vice-President representing RFOs


Francisco Javier Moreno Fuentes

Vice-President for International Affairs, Spanish National Research Council (CSIC), Vice-President representing RPOs

Ordinary Members

Katarina Bjelke

Director General of the Swedish Research Council (VR)

Adrian Curaj

Director General of the Executive Agency for Higher Education, Research, Development and Innovation Funding of Romania (UEFISCDI)

Anna Di Ciaccio

Director of the National Institute for Nuclear Physics (INFN)


Milica Đurić-Jovičić

Acting Director of the Science Fund of the Republic of Serbia (SFRS)

Christof Gattringer

President of the Austrian Science Fund (FWF)

Matthias Koenig

Vice-President of the German Research Foundation (DFG)

Christopher Smith

Executive Chair of the Arts and Humanities Research Council, UK Research and Innovation (UKRI)