Skip to content
Map of Europe made of dots of light, with brighter dots over main cities and wires interconnecting them
Map of Europe made of dots of light, with brighter dots over main cities and wires interconnecting them © imaginima

EU Framework Programmes

The EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation is an essential tool to boost excellent research and innovation and foster collaboration at European level. Science Europe actively promotes its vision for an ambitious programme that will help develop excellence throughout the European Research Area.

Why are the EU Framework Programmes important?

The EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation is the main EU funding instrument for research and innovation (R&I).

The topic is a major priority area for Science Europe and its Member Organisations (MOs). Science Europe represents both Research Performing Organisations (RPOs), who are among the main beneficiaries of the Framework Programmes, and Research Funding Organisations (RFOs), who have decades of experience in setting up leading research programmes and who collaborate regularly with the European Commission notably through joint initiatives.

Science Europe and its MOs are committed to contributing to making EU Framework Programmes a successful and efficient tool to boost R&I.

What are the current priorities?

The European Institutions are currently preparing Horizon Europe, the next Framework Programme for 2021-2027. Science Europe firmly believes that Europe needs and deserves a research programme which:

  • has a substantially larger budget than Horizon 2020 in order to meet ambitious goals such as strengthening the European position on the world research and innovation landscape, and addressing the societal challenges Europe faces.
  • recognises ‘excellence’ as its core principle and reinforces instruments promoting research excellence such as the European Research Council.
  • provides opportunities for fundamental and applied research in all parts of the programme, including challenge-oriented research.
  • includes measures to encourage and develop excellence in all countries of the European Research Area.
  • encourages Open Access to research results and data sharing.
  • strengthens cooperation with public sector partners by joining R&I programmes and cross-border investment for the benefit of research and innovation.

What is Science Europe doing to achieve these aims?

Science Europe is an active voice in the policy dialogues for the Horizon Europe preparations and is actively collaborating with policy makers from the EU Institutions to ensure that the input of its Research Performing Organisations and Research Funding Organisations is integrated into the final programme.

Science Europe puts forward the experience of its Member Organisations, and feedback from approaches tested at national level, to inform the decisions regarding the development and implementation of new initiatives developed within Horizon Europe.  

Science Europe also informs and supports its Member Organisations in the context of their own engagement with Horizon Europe.

Country Organisation Acronym Name
Austria Austrian Science Fund FWF Reinhard Belocky
Belgium Fund for Scientific Research FRS-FNRS Natacha Wittorski
Belgium Research Foundation Flanders FWO Ann Van Hauwaert
Denmark Independent Research Fund Denmark DFF Anne Lindeløv
Estonia Estonian Research Council ETAg Ülle Napa
Finland Academy of Finland AKA Hannele Lahtinen
France French National Research Agency ANR Nakita Vodjdani
Germany German Research Foundation DFG Martin Winger
Germany Max Planck Society MPG Rüdiger Hesse
Ireland Irish Research Council IRC Peter Brown
Ireland Science Foundation Ireland SFI Dolores Melgar
Italy National Institute for Nuclear Physics INFN Francesco Ferlaino
Lithuania Research Council of Lithuania LMT Jūratė Devižienė
Netherlands Dutch Research Council NWO Joyce Kuipers
Norway Research Council of Norway RCN Tom-Espen Møller
Norway Research Council of Norway RCN Tor Ivar Eikaas
Poland Foundation for Polish Science FNP Michal Pietras
Poland National Science Centre Poland NCN Sylwia Kostka
Portugal Foundation for Science and Technology FCT Ana Mafalda Dourado
Spain Spanish National Research Council CSIC Berta Martínez
Sweden Swedish Research Council for Sustainable Development FORMAS Britta Fängström
Sweden Swedish Research Council VR Ana Beramendi
Switzerland Swiss National Science Foundation SNSF Rahel Byland
United Kingdom UK Research and Innovation UKRI Inga Benner

Related content