Skip to content
Map of Europe made of dots of light, with brighter dots over main cities and wires interconnecting them
Map of Europe made of dots of light, with brighter dots over main cities and wires interconnecting them © imaginima

EU Framework Programmes - Horizon Europe

The EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation is an essential tool to boost excellent research and foster collaboration at European level. Science Europe firmly believes that such an ambitious programme should help develop excellence throughout the European Research Area.

Why are the EU Framework Programmes important?

The EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation is the main EU funding instrument for R&I. The current programme, Horizon Europe, will run from 2021 to 2027 and has a budget of €95 billion. The previous programme, Horizon 2020, ran from 2014 to 2020.

The topic is a major priority area for Science Europe, which represents both research performing organisations – who are among the main beneficiaries of the Framework Programmes – and research funding organisations – who have decades of experience in setting up leading research programmes and regularly collaborate with the European Commission, notably through joint initiatives.

Science Europe and its members are committed to contributing to the success and efficiency of Horizon Europe to boost R&I in Europe.

What are the current priorities?

Horizon Europe aims to strengthen Europe’s position on the global R&I stage and to address the societal challenges that Europe faces.

Science Europe believes that Horizon Europe should be a Framework Programme that:

  • has yearly budgets that meet its ambitious goals.
  • recognises ‘excellence’ as its core principle and protects instruments that promote research excellence, such as the European Research Council.
  • provides opportunities for fundamental and applied research in all parts of the programme, including challenge-oriented research.
  • includes measures to encourage and develop excellence in all countries of the European Research Area.
  • encourages Open Access to research results, and data sharing.
  • strengthens co-operation with public sector partners by joining R&I programmes and cross-border investment that benefits R&I.
  • contributes to the goals of the European Research Area (ERA) and complements the national programmes and initiatives.

What is Science Europe doing to achieve these aims?

Science Europe is an active voice in the Horizon Europe policy dialogue. It collaborates with policy makers to ensure that the input of its members is integrated in the programme’s implementation.

The association puts forward the experience of its members and provides feedback from approaches tested at national level. This helps inform the decisions on the development and implementation of new initiatives developed in Horizon Europe.  

Science Europe also informs and supports its members regarding their own engagement with the Framework Programme.

Over the course of Horizon Europe’s lifespan, Science Europe will continue to defend the annual budget of the programme to ensure that minimum funding is at least at the level of the ceilings indicated in the Multiannual Financial Framework.

Country Organisation Acronym Name
Austria Austrian Science Fund FWF Reinhard Belocky
Belgium Fund for Scientific Research FRS-FNRS Natacha Wittorski
Belgium Research Foundation Flanders FWO Ann Van Hauwaert
Denmark Independent Research Fund Denmark DFF Anne Lindeløv
Estonia Estonian Research Council ETAg Ülle Napa
Finland Academy of Finland AKA Hannele Lahtinen
France French National Research Agency ANR Nakita Vodjdani
Germany German Research Foundation DFG Martin Winger
Germany Max Planck Society MPG Rüdiger Hesse
Ireland Irish Research Council IRC Peter Brown
Ireland Science Foundation Ireland SFI Dolores Melgar
Italy National Institute for Nuclear Physics INFN Francesco Ferlaino
Lithuania Research Council of Lithuania LMT Jūratė Devižienė
Netherlands Dutch Research Council NWO Joyce Kuipers
Norway Research Council of Norway RCN Tom-Espen Møller
Norway Research Council of Norway RCN Tor Ivar Eikaas
Poland Foundation for Polish Science FNP Michal Pietras
Poland National Science Centre Poland NCN Sylwia Kostka
Portugal Foundation for Science and Technology FCT Ana Mafalda Dourado
Spain Spanish National Research Council CSIC Berta Martínez
Sweden Swedish Research Council for Sustainable Development FORMAS Britta Fängström
Sweden Swedish Research Council VR Ana Beramendi
Switzerland Swiss National Science Foundation SNSF Rahel Byland (Co-chair)
United Kingdom UK Research and Innovation UKRI Inga Benner (Co-chair)

Member-only content is available on this page. Please log in to view this content.

Related content